Swims – An interesting all-rounder?!

It has been one of those days… The sun has graced Paris with its presence and a leather-jacked type of weather, yet I am sitting in Starbucks typing furiously on my computer while a random lady keeps checking my computer screen hoping to find god-knows what.

In attempt to give my finger somewhat of a break, I turn to my favourite distraction: Fancy.com. For those of you who don’t know Fancy.com, it is basically the world’s greatest distraction where you can find, share and buy awesome things. To put it in the words of the website,

“Fancy is the place where you discover, collect, and buy from a crowd-curated catalogue of amazing goods, wonderful places and innovative stores.

Fancy lets you discover an endless assortment of cool stuff, curated by our global community of over 3 million people with one thing in common: exceptional taste. Use Fancy to find the best gear, plan a vacation, or keep up to date with the latest fashion.“

Bildschirmfoto 2013-04-07 um 17.34.37

So while I am serenading myself with Majestic Casuals Youtube channel, I stumble across a beautiful Turquoise Suit by Bottega Veneta and then these interesting pair of loafers by SWIMS. The loafers had the tri-factor: they were in my favourite colour (blue) had a hidden panel (red) and I had never heard of the company in my life! What can I say; I love the “new” and “unknown”!

Bildschirmfoto 2013-04-07 um 17.28.28

Online with SWIMS.

As it turns out SWIMS is a shoe company out of Norway who put their spin on shoes, and accessories … and outerwear. I ended up window-shopping on the side for about an hour and made an interesting discovery: Despite my undying hatred for Crocks (I just can’t get over how ugly and totally unfashionable they are) and plastic shoes in general; I kinda got used to the idea of rubber shoes. SWIMS actually managed to give their collection a certain appeal and functionality, one that I have been looking for, especially in towns like Paris and London where the weather is slightly insane and unpredictable. As it turned out I was not the only one who was convinced by styling of the product. SWIMS actually collaborated with Armani for their Fall/Winter 2012 collection and created an Armani by SWIMS overshoe.

catwalk-shoe

Getting back to the loafers. I was surprised by how good and stylish the shoes looked; reasonably priced between 119 and 250€, the company ships for free when you buy 2 or more pairs. So I pulled out my credit card and put in my malnourished bank details. What can I say, living in Paris and loving Fashion is expensive, but they go together like chocolate cake and Vodka. My first order was fairly modest in colour and styling. Buying the Lace Loafer in Navy and White with the Penny Loafer, also in Navy and White. I’ll keep you posted on what the product looks like and how they fair in fashion conscious Paris.

Bildschirmfoto 2013-04-07 um 18.06.46

Images courtesy of Fancy.com & SWIMS

Leave a Reply

