The Vogue Festival – Victoria Beckham

The second day of the Vogue Festival started of with a bang… and Victoria Beckham. Vogue Editor Alexandra Shulman interviewed Victoria Beckham on her life as a mother, entrepreneur, and cynicism surrounding her move into the fashion industry. Her charming personality and sharp-witted humour was in stalk contrast to the amount of control or censorship that was exercised during her talk.

 

victoria-beckham_vogue_28apr13_b

To say that this talk was interesting would be an understatement of epic proportions. Victoria Beckham was charming, funny, sharp witted and a slight control freak. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love control. I live for planning; I have an online calendar that is hooked up to my phone, computer and tablet. I schedule my lunch appointments a week in advance and have a calendar event for EVERYTHING. But even I found the charming and surprisingly funny Victoria Beckham slightly more controlling that I had ever dreamed! A strict ban on photographs, video or audio recordings was installed before she even enter the stage, much less the fact that the audience questions had to be pre-submitted online. Now, everyone has their own way of doing things so I will not dwell on my confusion and frustration about this and move right onto her talk. But seriously girl, let that charming personality disarm the audience, not your epic ability to control!

“I am nice! Everyone thinks I’m going to be a cow. I understand it, actually; I think the same when I see the pictures!” was one of the first things that Ms Beckham said. Surprisingly, her statement turned out to be true: Victoria was charming, funny and at times filled with colourful sarcasm, especially when it came to the original cynicism surrounding her move into fashion. “At the beginning there were a lot of raised eyebrows… well, from those who could raise their eyebrows.”

Ms Beckham gave an interesting introduction into her live, work, and her creative process. While addressing rumours that she did not know how to design and smiting them in their infancy:

“When I started, I did one-on-one presentations, I’d talk for hours to people who didn’t even speak English. I think a lot of people probably thought, ‘Shut up, stop going on about a bloody grosgrain waistband!’”

Victoria Beckham showed that she knows what she is doing, but also highlighted that she is a smart and savvy businesswomen who knows what is right for her and her brand. It was also impressive to hear how she balances family with work. Her “children are [her] priority and always have been […] [she] had one of those swingy chairs for Harper in [her] office and [Harper would] bounce one way and swing into a roll of fabric and then bounce the other way and crash into a bag of samples.“

And her are some quick snippets for you about the future for her brand:

On Street-Wear:

” Maybe one day, but right now I don’t have the time.”

On Opening stand-alone Stores:

“I am looking into [standalone] retail too – the e-commerce has been going really well. I get bored easily so its time for something new. London is where I want to have my first store.”

On showing in London:

” I’d never say never to showing in London, but I’ve got a great thing going in New York. Maybe one day.”

 

Sadly, is only one image of this event… courtesy of Vogue.co.uk

Leave a Reply

